MATAMaryland Athletic TrainersMaryland Athletic Trainers Association

    Athletic Trainer Service Award

The Athletic Training Service Award is an honor that recognizes MATA members in Maryland for their contributions to the profession of athletic training and the Association through local and state service.

Eligibility: To be eligible for nomination, individuals must have 10 years certified membership in Maryland. An Athletic Trainer Service Award candidate exemplifies the mission statement of the MATA, MAATA, NATA and the NATA Code of Ethics; by his/her conduct and advancement of the profession.
Recipients of the NATA Service Award, Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award or members of the MATA Hall of Fame will not be considered for the MATA Service Award.  Additionally, members who are MAATA or MATA Hall of Fame, Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award or MAATA Service Award recipients will not be considered for the MATA Service Award.

Nomination Procedures:  Members who wish to nominate a deserving colleague should submit the following information by email to the Service Award Sub-Committee Chair Heather Kohlbus at

Nominators Name
Nominators Email
Nominators Phone
Nominees Name
Nominees Email
Nominees Phone

Upon receiving the nomination, the nominee will be sent the Nomination Application to be completed by the deadline contained within the application.
Athletic Trainer Service Award Recipients

2018 - Jon Glover and Nick Pitruzzella

2017 - Greg Penczek and Liz Vaught


2016 - Christine Lesh, Gina Palermo, Jeremy Parr, Tracy Layton

Christine Lesh 

Gina Palermo

Jeremy Parr

Tracy Layton

2015 - Brian Bradshaw and Kevin Domboski 
Brian Bradshaw

Kevin Domboski 

2014 - Dan Lopez and Maureen Thompson

Dan Lopez 

Maureen Thompson

2013 - Maggie Souris
  Maggie Souris

2012 - Karl Bailey and Amy Magladry

Karl Bailey Amy Magladry